Grower Champagnes

Our champagne is the reflection of the terroir it comes from and of the love of the men who patiently created it...

Winegrowing is... a profession, and a passion

All year long, Champagne vineyards require demanding, daily work for it to be controlled and yield the best it has to offer: pruning, binding, tying, trimming, etc. These processes are mainly performed manually; they are at the heart of our activity.

For all of our estate, which is classified as a Grand Cru, we work the land with the methods of integrated winegrowing: maintaining the soil and letting weeds grow in the parcels, mating disruption, use of phytosanitary products, only when needed, waste management, traceability, etc.
And whenever it is possible, we take it further by adopting techniques used for organic agriculture.

It is essential for us to respect what nature has to offer, which enables us to produce high quality grapes.

An ancestral technique

Passed down from generation to generation, our family expertise follows the Champenois tradition while combining it with techniques characteristic of our Estate, to offer characterful champagnes, suited to every occasion.

The harvest, in the Champagne region, is always done manually. The crushing of the grapes is performed immediately after the harvest, each growth at a time and each grape variety at a time, on the estate, in our own press.

Each juice is identified and placed in a separate vat, so that they can each reveal their own qualities. Those qualities will be used judiciously during the blending phase, which is skilfully and passionately performed by Jean-Louis and Jean-Christophe Delavenne.

This subtle assembling of grape varieties, from the three growths of our estate, is what enables us to offer our range of champagnes.

A quest for quality

  • As opposed to the general practice in Champagne, we do not perform malolactic fermentation. This technique requires great skill and attention.
  • We let our wines evolve in vats as naturally as possible. This natural process of vinification is a long and subtle one. It requires irreproachable hygiene, daily checks and much patience. We only bottle in July, rather than in February, as tradition has it.
  • Finally, our champagnes age in our natural cellars, carved out of the local chalk, for a minimum of three years - longer for vintage cuvées. This means that they are ready to be drunk as soon as they are bought.

All these efforts are rewarded by obtaining high quality champagnes, more crisp and more fruity, which age better and clearly express the typicity of their terroir.

To be able to consult this site, you must be of the legal age governing the acquisition and consumption of alcohol in your country of residence. If no such law exists in your country, you must be over 18 years.

Un champagne de vigneron

Notre champagne reflète son terroir et l'amour des hommes qui l'ont patiemment élaboré...

Vigneron... un métier, une passion familiale

Tout au long de l'année, la vigne de Champagne demande un travail exigeant et quotidien pour être maîtrisée et donner le meilleur d'elle-même : la taille, le liage, le palissage, le rognage, etc. Ces opérations se font en grande partie manuellement; elles représentent le coeur de notre métier.

L'ensemble de notre vignoble, classé Grand Cru, est travaillé en viticulture raisonnée : entretien des sols et enherbement des parcelles, confusion sexuelle, usage de produits phytosanitaires selon les besoins uniquement, gestion des déchets, traçabilité, etc.
Et dès que cela est possible, nous allons au-delà avec des techniques proches d'une agriculture biologique.

Cela nous semble essentiel pour respecter ce que nous offre la nature et nous permet de produire des raisins de grande qualité.

Une technique ancestrale

Transmis de génération en génération, notre savoir-faire familial respecte la tradition champenoise tout en alliant des techniques propres à notre Maison, de façon à vous proposer des champagnes de caractère qui sauront vous séduire en toutes occasions.

La vendange s'effectue toujours manuellement en Champagne. Le pressurage est réalisé immédiatement après, cru par cru et cépage par cépage, dans notre propre pressoir au sein de la propriété.

Les jus sont identifiés et mis en cuve séparément pour leur permettre de révéler leurs qualités propres. Celles-ci seront utilisées lors de l'assemblage, réalisé avec passion et savoir-faire par Jean-Louis et Jean-Christophe Delavenne.

Ce subtil mariage des cépages, issus des trois crus constituant notre vignoble, donne naissance à nos différentes qualités de champagnes.

La recherche de la qualité

  • Contrairement à la pratique courante en Champagne, nous n'effectuons pas de fermentation malolactique. Cette technique demande une grande maîtrise et une attention particulière.
  • Nous laissons nos vins évoluer en cuve aussi naturellement que possible. Ce processus de vinification naturel est long et délicat. Il nous impose une hygiène irréprochable, une surveillance quotidienne et beaucoup de patience. Le "tirage" n'est réalisé qu'au mois de juillet, au lieu de février habituellement.
  • Pour finir, nos champagnes vieillissent dans nos caves naturelles, creusées dans la craie, pendant trois années minimum, et plus encore pour les cuvées millésimées. Ils sont donc prêts à être dégustés dès leur commercialisation.

Tous ces efforts sont récompensés par l'obtention de champagnes de grande qualité, plus frais et plus fruités, qui vieilliront mieux dans le temps et qui exprimeront clairement la typicité de leur terroir.

Pour accéder à notre site, vous certifiez être majeur(e) et avoir connaissance de la règlementation en vigueur dans votre pays relative à l'information sur les boissons alcoolisées diffusée sur Internet.